Social Victorians/Derby Day at Epsom Downs

Derby Day at Epsom DownsEdit

LogisticsEdit

Derby Day was the one of several days of horse racing, the one most carnival-like. I think it occurred on Wednesday, the racing at Epsom Downs beginning on Tuesday and lasting through Friday, at least at this point in the history of this derby.

Oak Day was the day after Derby Day at Epsom Downs.

Dates of Derby DayEdit

  • Wednesday, 24 May 1871, Baron Rothschild's Favonius won. The Prince of Wales attended.
  • Wednesday, 29 May 1872
  • Wednesday, 28 May 1873
  • Wednesday, 3 June 1874
  • Wednesday, 26 May 1875
  • Wednesday, 31 May 1876
  • Wednesday, 30 May 1877
  • Wednesday, 5 June 1878
  • Wednesday, 28 May 1879
  • Wednesday, 26 May 1880
  • Wednesday, 1 June 1881
  • Wednesday, 24 May 1882
  • Wednesday, 23 May 1883
  • Wednesday, 28 May 1884
  • Wednesday, 3 June 1885
  • Wednesday, 26 May 1886
  • Wednesday, 25 May 1887
  • Wednesday, 30 May 1888
  • Wednesday, 5 June 1889
  • Wednesday, 4 June 1890
  • Wednesday, 27 May 1891
  • Wednesday, 31 May 1893
  • Wednesday, 6 June 1894
  • Wednesday, 29 May 1895
  • Wednesday, 3 June 1896
  • Wednesday, 2 June 1897
  • Wednesday, 25 May 1898
  • Wednesday, 31 May 1899
  • Wednesday, 30 May 1900

Related EventsEdit

Who Was PresentEdit

  1. The Prince of Wales often attended the Epsom Down races accompanied by a large retinue of friends.

Questions and NotesEdit

BibliographyEdit

  • Murphy, Sophia. The Duchess of Devonshire's Ball. London: Sidgwick & Kackson, 1984.